FIFA World Cup: Which teams have qualified to Qatar 2022

The 2022 World Cup will be limited to 32 competitors, with the host country Qatar qualifying automatically.

The qualifiers are held all around the world, with countries from all continents competing for a spot in the final event in Qatar. The amount of spots available varies for each football organization.

The football associations listed below are FIFA members and have a chance to gain one or more places:

  • Europe (UEFA): 13 tickets
  • Asia (AFC): 4 or 5 tickets + 1 host country
  • Africa (CAF): 5 tickets
  • North America (CONCACAF): 3 or 4 tickets
  • South America (CONMEBOL): 4 or 5 tickets
  • Oceania (OFC): 0 or 1 ticket

The number of tickets from a few continents depends on the intercontinental play-offs, where countries from one continent play against countries from other continents for the last World Cup places.

Qualified countries for the 2022 World Cup

These are the 29 qualified countries for the 2022 World Cup. Host country Qatar has automatically qualified, and England is also qualified for Qatar.

Country Date Continent Association
Qatar Qatar 02-12-2010 Asia AFC AFC
Germany Germany 11-10-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Denmark Denmark 12-10-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Brazil Brazil 11-11-2021 South America CONMEBOL CONMEBOL
France France 13-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Belgium Belgium 13-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Croatia Croatia 14-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Spain Spain 14-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Serbia Serbia 14-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Switzerland Switzerland 15-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
England England 15-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Netherlands Netherlands 16-11-2021 Europe UEFA UEFA
Argentina Argentina 17-11-2021 South America CONMEBOL CONMEBOL
Iran Iran 01-02-2022 Asia AFC AFC
South Korea South Korea 01-02-2022 Asia AFC AFC
Japan Japan 01-02-2022 Asia AFC AFC
Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia 01-02-2022 Asia AFC AFC
Ecuador Ecuador 25-03-2022 South America CONMEBOL CONMEBOL
Uruguay Uruguay 25-03-2022 South America CONMEBOL CONMEBOL
Canada Canada 28-03-2022 North America CONCACAF CONCACAF
Portugal Portugal 29-03-2022 Europa UEFA UEFA
Poland Poland 29-03-2022 Europa UEFA UEFA
Senegal Senegal 29-03-2022 Africa CAF CAF
Ghana Ghana 29-03-2022 Africa CAF CAF
Cameroon Cameroon 29-03-2022 Africa CAF CAF
Morocco Morocco 29-03-2022 Africa CAF CAF
Tunisia Tunisia 29-03-2022 Africa CAF CAF
Mexico Mexico 31-03-2022 North America CONCACAF CONCACAF
United States United States 31-03-2022 North America CONCACAF CONCACAF

Qualified countries by continent for the 2022 World Cup

The total number of available World Cup tickets per continent is 31 + 1 host country. Europe is allowed to send 13 participants to the football tournament and is therefore by far the best represented.

There are 6 continents of which 31 countries can qualify for the 2022 World Cup. The host country is the 32nd participant.

Continent Association Tickets Qualified
Asia AFC AFC 4 or 5 + 1 4 + 1
Africa CAF CAF 5 5
North America CONCACAF CONCACAF 3 or 4 3
South America CONMEBOL CONMEBOL 4 or 5 4
Oceania OFC OFC 0 or 1 0
Europe UEFA UEFA 13 12

Leave a Comment